“I’ve only seen it on American TV, so it might not be real, but do Americans actually eat sweet potatoes with marshmallows? Doesn’t that make you feel sick?” —u/deleted “That awful, orange, plasticky American cheese. I lived in North America for a year and missed good British cheddar so much!” —u/Gemzaaa “Brit here. I tried root beer for the first time as an adult, and I figure that you have to have drunk it from childhood in order to like it as an adult.” —u/daisy70 “I’ve travelled quite a bit, and the US is the only place I’ve been where leftovers are causally boxed up and given to you at the end of a meal. It’s a great idea, and I’m all for not wasting food, but it’s really strange to be served three meals worth of food on one plate, eat one serving at the restaurant, and then have the rest boxed up for you so you can eat it later. Just…make the portions smaller?” —Goodhoodzine “Americans have a superhuman ability to fry almost anything. The first time I saw deep-fried butter I was at a loss for words. It’s just fat wrapped in carbs and fried. I also saw deep-fried Oreos, jelly beans, and even sugar cubes dipped in batter, fried, and drizzled with chocolate. I ate it all shamelessly, so who am I to judge?” —u/blehbleh_no_1

 My European Family Members Are Completely Horrified By It   These Are The American Culinary Preferences That Are Totally Confusing To Non Americans - 69 My European Family Members Are Completely Horrified By It   These Are The American Culinary Preferences That Are Totally Confusing To Non Americans - 25 My European Family Members Are Completely Horrified By It   These Are The American Culinary Preferences That Are Totally Confusing To Non Americans - 23 My European Family Members Are Completely Horrified By It   These Are The American Culinary Preferences That Are Totally Confusing To Non Americans - 23 My European Family Members Are Completely Horrified By It   These Are The American Culinary Preferences That Are Totally Confusing To Non Americans - 93 My European Family Members Are Completely Horrified By It   These Are The American Culinary Preferences That Are Totally Confusing To Non Americans - 99 My European Family Members Are Completely Horrified By It   These Are The American Culinary Preferences That Are Totally Confusing To Non Americans - 79 My European Family Members Are Completely Horrified By It   These Are The American Culinary Preferences That Are Totally Confusing To Non Americans - 5 My European Family Members Are Completely Horrified By It   These Are The American Culinary Preferences That Are Totally Confusing To Non Americans - 9 My European Family Members Are Completely Horrified By It   These Are The American Culinary Preferences That Are Totally Confusing To Non Americans - 40 My European Family Members Are Completely Horrified By It   These Are The American Culinary Preferences That Are Totally Confusing To Non Americans - 30 My European Family Members Are Completely Horrified By It   These Are The American Culinary Preferences That Are Totally Confusing To Non Americans - 96 My European Family Members Are Completely Horrified By It   These Are The American Culinary Preferences That Are Totally Confusing To Non Americans - 25 My European Family Members Are Completely Horrified By It   These Are The American Culinary Preferences That Are Totally Confusing To Non Americans - 47 My European Family Members Are Completely Horrified By It   These Are The American Culinary Preferences That Are Totally Confusing To Non Americans - 64 My European Family Members Are Completely Horrified By It   These Are The American Culinary Preferences That Are Totally Confusing To Non Americans - 2 My European Family Members Are Completely Horrified By It   These Are The American Culinary Preferences That Are Totally Confusing To Non Americans - 24 My European Family Members Are Completely Horrified By It   These Are The American Culinary Preferences That Are Totally Confusing To Non Americans - 57 My European Family Members Are Completely Horrified By It   These Are The American Culinary Preferences That Are Totally Confusing To Non Americans - 65 My European Family Members Are Completely Horrified By It   These Are The American Culinary Preferences That Are Totally Confusing To Non Americans - 63 My European Family Members Are Completely Horrified By It   These Are The American Culinary Preferences That Are Totally Confusing To Non Americans - 70 My European Family Members Are Completely Horrified By It   These Are The American Culinary Preferences That Are Totally Confusing To Non Americans - 24 My European Family Members Are Completely Horrified By It   These Are The American Culinary Preferences That Are Totally Confusing To Non Americans - 22 My European Family Members Are Completely Horrified By It   These Are The American Culinary Preferences That Are Totally Confusing To Non Americans - 84 My European Family Members Are Completely Horrified By It   These Are The American Culinary Preferences That Are Totally Confusing To Non Americans - 51 My European Family Members Are Completely Horrified By It   These Are The American Culinary Preferences That Are Totally Confusing To Non Americans - 22 My European Family Members Are Completely Horrified By It   These Are The American Culinary Preferences That Are Totally Confusing To Non Americans - 33 My European Family Members Are Completely Horrified By It   These Are The American Culinary Preferences That Are Totally Confusing To Non Americans - 34 My European Family Members Are Completely Horrified By It   These Are The American Culinary Preferences That Are Totally Confusing To Non Americans - 11